Destination Sport Miami - Horizontal Logo
October 3, 2023


Our Starting 5

Bryan Trottier

Bryan Trottier is a 7 time Stanley Cup winner who played 18 seasons in the National Hockey League (NHL) for the New York Islanders and for the Pittsburgh Penguins. Trottier is a First Nation’s Canadian-American former professional ice hockey player who won four Stanley Cups with the Islanders, two with the Penguins and one as an assistant coach with the Colorado Avalanche. He holds the NHL record for most points in a single period with six points (four goals and two assists), in the second period against the Rangers on December 23, 1978. He is also one of only eight NHL players with multiple five-goal games. On August 4, 2014, Trottier was announced as an assistant coach for the Buffalo Sabers. Bryan Trottier was elected to the NHL Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997, and in 2017 was named one of the “100 Greatest NHL Players”.

Jill Ellis

Jill Ellis was named Head Coach of the U.S. Women’s National Team in 2014. Since then she has won two Women’s World Cups, in 2015 and 2019. As a coach, Ellis never lost a World Cup match, going 13-0-1. The victory in 2019 broke records, making her the first coach to win the Women’s World Cup twice. She continued to shatter records, as she coached 132 international games, more than any other U.S. Women’s National Team coach in history. Jill finished her astonishing career with a 106-7-19 overall record, earning 99 more wins than she had losses.

Glen Rice

Glen Rice is one of the top pure shooters in National Basketball Association (NBA) history while playing for The Miami Heat, Los Angeles Lakers and the Charlotte Hornets. As a small forward standing tall at 6’8”, Rice was a three-time NBA All-Star who won a Championship with the Los Angeles Lakers in 2000. As a sharp shooter, Rice made 1,559 three-point field goals during his 15-year career. Before his successful NBA carrier, Rice starred at the University of Michigan and is the leading scorer in Big10 history with 2,442 points. He led Michigan to the NCAA Championship Game in 1989 where they won the title. Glen was awarded the Most Outstanding Player honors for the Final Four that year, as well as, receiving the Jesse Owens Award as the Big 10 Athlete of the Year for 1989.

Randy Moss

Randy Moss is considered one of the greatest wide receivers to ever play in National Football League (NFL) history. Moss played 14 seasons in the NFL. His career included playing with the Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots, Tennessee Titans, and the San Francisco 49ers. In his rookie season while playing for the Minnesota Vikings, Moss set an NFL rookie record with 17 receiving touchdowns, earned first-team All-Pro honors, and was named NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. His career high was set in his 2003 season with 111 receptions for 1,632 receiving yards. At the end of his career, Moss was a six time Pro Bowl selection, received first-team All-Pro honors four times, and was named to the NFL All-Decade Team of the 2000s. He finished his career with 982 receptions for 15,292 yards and 156 touchdowns. On August 5, 2018, Moss was inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Liván Hernández

Liván Hernández was born in Villa Clara Province in Communist Cuba. At 20 year’s old, Hernández gave up his title as an official Cuban athlete and defected to the United States in 1995. Hernández has played for the Florida Marlins, the San Francisco Giants, the Montreal Expos, the Washington Nationals, the Arizona Diamondbacks, the Minnesota Twins, the Colorado Rockies, the New York Mets, the Atlanta Braves, and the Milwaukee Brewers. He is known for throwing a “slow hook” curveball, sometimes below 60 miles per hour, as a strikeout pitch. As a two-time All-Star, Hernández was considered to be a great defensive pitcher, having made just fifteen errors in his entire career. Hernández is described as a workhorse; he throws many pitches, pitches many innings, and makes every start he needs to provide his team’s bullpen much rest. In 1997, Hernández and the Marlins won the World Series. Hernández was also awarded the World Series MVP. Between 1998 and 2007 he never pitched fewer than 199 innings in a given season. Hernández led the National League in innings pitched for three consecutive seasons, 2003-2005, he also led the league in complete games from 2003-2004. In 2005, he once threw 150 pitches in nine innings. In 2004 and 2005, he led the major leagues with 3,927 and 4,009 pitches.